Diversity Committee

Diane Kolosionek, Cleveland State University, Diversity Committee Chair

ALAO Annual Conference
The Diversity Committee sponsored a successful session at the 2013 ALAO Annual Conference titled Programming Prowess: Transform Your Library with Engaging Events. Katy Kelly, Communications and Outreach Librarian at the University of Dayton, presented the session. Katy shared many great ideas for engaging the diverse intellectual, cultural, and social interests of your community. Her presentation is available at: http://ecommons.udayton.edu/roesch_fac_presentations/19/

During the Awards Program at the Annual Conference, I acknowledged this year’s Diversity Scholarship winners, Robert Millspaugh and Conrad Pegues. I also recognized Diana Nichols, Cataloger/Journalism Librarian at Ohio University, for serving as the ALAO mentor to last year’s Diversity Scholarship winner, Carissa Thatcher.

The Diversity Scholarship award includes a year of mentoring by an ALAO member. Kathleen Baril, Collections and Electronic Resources Librarian at Ohio Northern University, will serve as the ALAO mentor to Robert Millspaugh. Allen Reichert, Electronic Access Librarian at Otterbein University, will serve as the ALAO mentor to Conrad Pegues. Thank you to Kathleen and Allen for graciously agreeing to serve as mentors!

This entry was posted in Vol. 31 no. 4 (Dec. 2013). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s