2014 Continuing Education Grant Winners

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) Continuing Education Grant is awarded each year to support the cost of participating in professional development opportunities such as conferences, workshops, seminars, which are related to the member’s current position or in pursuit of a professional library degree. In early 2014 the ALAO Professional Development Committee conducted a blind review of seven strong applications and selected the following three ALAO members to receive the award:

Maureen Berry, First Year Experience Librarian at Wright State University, will be awarded an honorable mention award of $200 to attend “Extending our Reach: The Inaugural Colloquium on Libraries & Service-Learning” on August 11, 2014 at Santa Clara University in California. The conference is designed to facilitate the sharing of research, ideas, perspectives and best practices in library engagement with/in academic service learning.

Daniela Solomon, Engineering Librarian at Case Western Reserve University, will be awarded $450 to attend the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Annual Conference and Exposition June 14-18, 2014 in Indianapolis, IN. The ASEE Annual Conference and Exposition is the only conference dedicated to all disciplines of engineering education. The Engineering libraries Division (ELD) consists of librarians and information professionals concerned with the support of engineering education. The ELD role within ASEE is to promote the library as an integral part of engineering education.

Jane Wu, Systems Librarian at Otterbein University, will be awarded $1,850 to attend “Research Data Access and Preservation Summit 2014” at Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina in San Diego, CA March 26-28, 2014. The Research Data Access and Preservation Summit 2014 will feature three days of programming with an emphasis on practical approaches to research data management, access, and preservation, including success stories (and lessons learned), innovative research, and resources and tools developed by and for the community.

Congratulations to all winners. The 2014 PDC members are Katie Blocksidge (OSU Newark), Kevin Caslow (Northeast Ohio Medical University), Mark Eddy (Case Western Reserve University), Jeff Franks (University of Akron), Julie Gustafson (College of Wooster), Dana Knott (Columbus State CC, Delaware), Kathleen Pickens (Cincinnati State), and Suzanne Smailes (Wittenberg). The committee is chaired by Katy Kelly (University of Dayton).

This entry was posted in Vol. 32 no. 1 (March 2014). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s