2011/12 ALAO Honors and Awards Given at the Annual Conference

Carissa Thatcher

Your $30 annual membership fee supports a number of scholarships, grants, and awards to ALAO members. We presented eleven awards during the annual conference this year. Congratulations to all of the award winners.

Student Presenter Grant
Carissa Thatcher (Southern State Community College)

Support Staff Presenter Grant
Emily Brubaker (Heidelberg College)

Emily Brubaker

ALAO Diversity Scholarship
Carissa Thatcher (Southern State Community College)

ALAO Continuing Education Grant
Bridget Faricy (University of Toledo)

Distance Learning Visionary Award
Kenneth Burhanna (Kent State University)

Research Awards

Maureen Barry

  • Maureen Barry (Wright State University) – $350
    Project Title: What is the subject librarian’s role in a service-learning course?
  • Stacy Brinkman (Miami University) – $250
    Project Title: Next-Generation Collection Management: Using Augmented Reality Mobile Applications to Automate Shelf Reading and Inventory Control
  • Jacqueline Johnson (Miami University) – $200
    Project Title: Cephas Burns: Bridges of Hope
  • Ann Marie Smeraldi (Cleveland State University) – $200
    Project Title: Conducting a Usability Study to Uncover the Best Way to Teach Discovery Tool Searching


Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award
John Burke, Miami University Middletown (See article below)

Special Recognition Award for Service: OHIONET

This entry was posted in Vol. 30 no. 4 (Dec. 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s