Diversity Scholarship Award Recipient Update

On behalf of the ALAO Diversity Committee, co-chairs Edith Scarletto and Yuimi Hlasten Malgorzata Rehfus - 2018 Diversity Schoarlship Recipientare pleased to announce that the 2018 ALAO Diversity Scholarship recipient is Malgorzata Rehfus of Kent State University. Yuimi presented the scholarship certificate to Malgorzata during the 2018 Annual Conference.

Malgorzata is completing her Master of Library and Information Science at Kent State this semester, while she works fulltime at OCLC.

She donated a portion of the Diversity Scholarship to cover the cost of buttons distributed by New Professionals Special Interest Group members during the NPSIG session of 2018 IFLA WLIC. The buttons said “Open to All,” which is the inscription above the door of the Main branch of the Columbus Metropolitan Library.

Application information for next year’s annual Diversity Scholarship, which will be awarded to a student attending courses in a graduate program in library science in the Autumn Semester of 2019, will be shared in January.

–Yuimi Hlasten, Diversity Committee Co-Chair, Denison University
–Edith Scarletto, Diversity Committee Co-Chair, Bowling Green State University

This entry was posted in Vol. 36 no. 4 (Dec 2018) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s